On March 21st a dedicated ceremony in Milan (Italy) celebrated the winners of the 2018 Gustavo Sclocchi Awards. The Award Ceremony was hosted in “Sala Consiglio” of Milan Polytechnic.


This award is for the best theses in Geosciences and Petroleum Engineering presented by university graduates from Italian universities, as well as by Italian nationals graduated anywhere in the world. The Award dedicated to the best theses regarding the energy industry, for the first time this year included renewable energy, alternative feedstocks for green refinery and energy economy and management. The prize wants to encourage and reward young professionals at the beginning of their career in the industry.

This contest is a joint initiative of SPE Italian Section, EAGE and Assomineraria, the Italian Petroleum and Mining Industry Association. The awards started in 1993 and since 2001 they have been associated with the name of Gustavo Sclocchi, the Eni manager, who was the main promoter of the event. Over the last 25 years 683 theses have been submitted out of which 136 have won awards. This year in particular the interest was quite high and 36 theses competed for the prizes.


The Award was divided in two groups: Master of Science & Doctor of Philosophy and Bachelor of Science & 2nd level Master.

This year the winners are:

  • Categories Master of Science & Doctor of Philosophy:
  • Chiara Amadori: 3D architecture of the Po Plain – Northern Adriatic Basin since the Messinian Salinity crisis through Pliocene – Pleistocene time
  • Claudio Chesi: Facies and depositional architecture of the two transtentional continental basins: The Permian succession of the Orobic basin and of the Norwegian Danish basin
  • Marco Giuliani: Computational intelligence: a hybrid technique for the process modeling and production optimization of an oil field


  • Categories Bachelor of Science & 2nd level Master
  • Italo Luciani: Streamlines integration in Reservoir Management workflow to optimize water injection in a brown field


The special mentions were awarded to:

  • Xing Zhen: Two-grid full-waveform surface-wave inversion by means of a genetic algorithm
  • Simone Reguzzi: Lithostratigraphy and petrographic analysis of the Permian succession of the orobic basin margins (Pizzo Dei Tre Signori – Barbellino Lake, Orobic Alps, North Italy)
  • Giorgio Russo: Implementation of virtual metering models using real time data
  • Giacomo Lazzeri: Experimental use of drone remote sensed data for quickly mapping of wildfire burnt areas